Our Board of Directors consists of the following eight individuals:

1. Maureen Basquill Ruf           

Maureen is a lawyer admitted to practice in New York, and a partner of Ruf & Basquill. Prior to attending law school, Maureen earned an M.A. in International Relations. She is experienced in adoption law, immigration law and charitable organizations. From 1999 through the first quarter of 2001, Maureen served on the Committee on Foreign & Comparative Law of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, and from 2002 through 2006 Maureen served on the Bar Association’s United Nations Committee. Maureen also served on the Board of Directors of the United Nations Association of New York from 2004 through the first quarter of 2010.

2. Donna Hallas          

Donna is Clinical Professor and Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Program Coordinator at the College of Nursing, New York University. Donna is also a Registered Nurse, Certified Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, and Certified Pediatric Primary Care Mental Health Specialist. Donna has an extensive educational background, including a Nursing Diploma, B.S. in Biology, M.S. in Education, Allied Health Science, and a B,S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Nursing. Donna’s Ph.D. thesis was on the attachment relationship between foster care parents and foster care children. Donna has extensive teaching and clinical experience in foster care pre-adoption, pediatric primary care and maternal and child health, pediatric endocrinology, infant apnea, medical and neurosurgical nursing.

3. Priscilla Yuen-Man Kuk

Priscilla, who resides in Canada, is the Primary Autism Community Class Teacher with the York Region District School Board. She has an extensive educational background and experience with early childhood development and communication, special education, health issues, and developmental disabilities. Priscilla is fluent in English and Chinese (Cantonese).

4. Geraldine Kunstadter          

Geraldine is Chairman and President of the Albert Kunstadter Family Foundation. She has extensive experience with charitable organizations in the United States (especially in connection with the United Nations and diplomatic community) and globally (including Hong Kong, China, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Central America and South Africa), especially with development of programs for application of funds, and monitoring their application. Geraldine is a former President of the National Institute of Social Sciences and recipient of the Silver Medal for Distinguished Service from the National Institute of Social Sciences. For eighteen years Geraldine served on the National Committee on United States-China Relations. Her current board memberships include the Institute of World Affairs, Bridge to Asia Foundation, The Atlantic Council in the United States, and New York City Global Partners. Geraldine is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and serves on the Advisory Council of the Hospitality Committee for U.N. Delegations, Inc. Geraldine is fluent in French and has a working knowledge of Chinese (Mandarin).

5. James A. Ruf, Jr.         

Jim is a lawyer admitted to practice in New York and Colorado, and a partner with Ruf & Basquill. Jim has over forty years experience in general corporate law, including corporate finance, mergers and acquisitions and the formation and general representation of business and not-for-profit entities.

6. Juliann Xiaochuang Wang

Juliann, who resides in Singapore, has extensive marketing, financial, and business management experience. Juliann was educated in Singapore, Canada and the United States and, formerly, was Marketing Manager with OCBC Bank (Overseas-Chinese Banking Corporation). Juliann is fluent in English, Mandarin and Cantonese.

7. Serene Hang Su

Serene is a Chinese national who was born, raised and educated partly in China, and partly in Europe and the United States. Serene is fluent in Chinese (Mandarin and Cantonese), English, French and has a working knowledge of Spanish; and has extensive experience in international business development, computer science, interpretation, and fitness instruction. Experience working with children, in particular, includes teaching fitness classes to school children in New York, and volunteering abroad at an orphanage in Macao (while pursuing her undergraduate degree in Macao, and, by the way, Serene earned first prize in an English language contest for her work with the children there).

8. Diane T. Woo             

Diane is President of Diane T. Woo, Inc. She has extensive experience as a consultant and advisor to U.S. businesses working overseas, and extensive experience with charitable organizations as well as “for profit” entities in the United States and China. Diane’s current board memberships include The American Friends of the Shanghai Museum, and the Soong Ching Ling Foundation, a group dedicated to the welfare and education of children in China. Diane is a member and a former Director of the National Committee on United States-China Relations, and a member and former Director and Treasurer of the Friends of China Heritage Fund. Diane is fluent in English and Chinese (Mandarin, Cantonese and Shanghainese).

The Board of Directors is our governing body that establishes and approves the Agency’s mission, policies, budget and programs, and appoints and oversees the performance of the officers and Executive Director.

It is the express policy of our Board that, as the Agency gains experience in the placement of orphans from abroad, it will remain a closely knit and active Board and not retreat to merely an oversight function.

The Agency’s Corporate Secretary is Yorlene Vukel.

The President, Treasurer and Acting Executive Director is Maureen Basquill Ruf.